Topic: Trying to get FirGPG working with Portable Firefox

Despite some of the messages which seemed to indicate this would not work, I thought I would try... Because it is really really useful and I am already using this mechanism with Thunderbird (PortableApps version of Thunderbird+Enigmail). This works fine but not in every situation (for example when you try to use your key behind a firewall that blocks SMTP). So being able to use FireGPG would be very very good for me.

I'm not a crypto expert so excuse me if I get things wrong, here is a list of problems I have encountered running PortableApps FireFox 3.0.5 and FireGPG 0.7.2 on Windows/XP and trying to get this all to work via Gmail.
I've installed Portable Apps and the WinGPG crypto software on my USB memory stick. I've installed the FireGPG add-on in Firefox.

1) Problem with loading keys into the key manager.
Since I've got my keys (both my own private/public and my friends public keys) already loaded in Thunderbird, I thought I would simply export them into files and then import them into FireGPG. There seem to be some problems:
a) when the key is imported it does not appear in the list, you have to close the key editor and open it again.
b) when I export my public/private key from Thunderbird, the import only seems to import the public key part so I have to generate a new key pair for signing (and presumably I can't have both present at the same time)
c) I tried decrypting a mail from a friend but it didn't work, though this may be because I was trying to use the new Gmail interface - this does not appear to function.

2) Problem with Gmail
When I use the new Gmail interface then I can't see anything that will let me sign or encrypt. On the old interface, there are some buttons that appear to do something (Encrypt and Send etc)...

3) Problem with link to GPG